Downgrading a subscription for Parallels Desktop for Mac

3 users found this article helpful

Managing software licenses efficiently is crucial for organizations using Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition and Parallels Toolbox Business Edition. In cases where a subscription is renewed with a smaller number of licenses than currently in use, administrators often face challenges in redistributing licenses appropriately. This article presents a comprehensive solution to help businesses proactively manage licenses, prevent disruptions, and enhance overall user satisfaction.

Introduction

When a license is renewed with a smaller number of licenses, Parallels Desktop won't be deactivated on end users' computers immediately. To ensure a smooth transition process, administrators of the business account are given a few additional days to revoke access to Parallels Desktop from the unused computers. Learn more about how to deactivate Parallels Desktop from end-users computers in Parallels My Account in KB 122802.

If you renew a license before the renewal date

In this case, you'll be given 30 days from the date of the renewal to deactivate the computers where Parallels Desktop is not used to fit the new number of licenses. If it hasn't been done, the new number of licenses should take effect starting on the 31st day after the date of the original subscription expiration. After that date, the unsecured licenses will be taken from computers automatically based on the last contact date: the computers that were used a long time ago will be deactivated sooner.

If you renew a license within the grace period

Upon a subscription expiration, you are given 30 days (Grace Period) to renew a license. If you renew it within this period, you're given 30 days from the date of the renewal to deactivate the computers where Parallels Desktop is not used to fit the new number of licenses. If it hasn't been done, the new number of licenses should take effect starting on the 31st day after the date of the original subscription expiration. After that date, the unsecured licenses will be taken from computers automatically based on the last contact date: the computers that were used a long time ago will be deactivated sooner.

If you renew a license after the grace period

If you renew the license after this period, you're given 30 days from the renewal date to deactivate the computers where Parallels Desktop is not used to fit the new number of licenses. If it hasn't been done, the new number of licenses should take effect starting on the 31st day after the date of the original subscription expiration. After that date, the unsecured licenses will be taken from computers automatically based on the last contact date: the computers that were used a long time ago will be deactivated sooner.

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how we can improve it.