The automatic logout is intended to automatically log out end users who are no longer actively working in the Workspace, System Settings or Dashboard. The main use case for this feature is that the end users are logged out if they haven't interacted with the Workspace for some time, even if it is open and visible in their browser.
This feature can be enabled/disabled and applies to the users specified with the user labels. It is also possible to determine the timeout value.
These settings can be configured per Workspace domain: System Settings > Configure > User Connector: Automatic logout.
The settings are only applied after the user signs in again, but not to already active user sessions.
Mind that when using a Single Sign-On (SSO) implementation such as SAML or OpenID, it's highly recommended to also specify the single logout URL there. Otherwise, users may get signed in again automatically.
It's worth noting that the built-in management user will always be automatically logged out after 10-15 minutes. This can not be adjusted.
What is considered "user activity"?
- Key input.
- Pointer input (including mouse movements).
- Browser (de)activation input.
Activity in reverse-proxied web applications is not tracked.