UPD (user profile disks) is a technology which allows to store user profiles in virtual hard disks instead of using roaming profiles. Please refer to KB 124021 for more info.
Sometimes disabling it may lead to temporary profiles logons.
Users login to temporary profiles in RDS sessions after UPD disabling at RDS Hosts.
This issues appears when UPD is being disabled while users being logged on to the RDS host.
- Once UPD is enabled on the RDS host, users who log in physically (running console session) start using UPD as well;
- It's not possible to use UPD on 2 different servers at the same time. Result is temporary account;
- Publishing Agent should be installed on the separate machine, otherwise, after UPD is disabled administrator will end up with the temporary profile because he was being logged in using UPD when disabling it and Windows in such case fails to remove home folder shortcut and reconfigure profile properly;
- Users should be logged off when disabling UPD, otherwise the same described above will occur;
of RDS Host. All users profiles existing there would be listed named by their Security Identifiers.