Netzwerkmodi in Parallels Desktop für Mac

4 users found this article helpful

Information

Die virtuelle Maschine kann je nach Benutzerbedarf drei verschiedene Netzwerkmodi verwenden:

Um zwischen den Netzwerkmodi zu wechseln, gehen Sie in die macOS-Menüleiste, wenn die virtuelle Maschine aktiv ist > Gerätemenü  > Netzwerk.

Hinweis: Die Konfiguration von Shared und Host-Only Netzwerken ist in der Pro Edition unter Parallels Desktop Einstellungen > Netzwerk verfügbar.

Gemeinsames Netzwerk

Dies ist der Standard- und empfohlene  Netzwerkmodus  für virtuelle Maschinen, da er keine spezielle Konfiguration erfordert und im Lieferumfang aktiviert ist. Wenn dieser Netzwerkmodus verwendet wird, arbeitet Parallels Desktop als virtueller Router für Ihre virtuelle Maschine. Das hat folgende Konsequenzen:

 

Dieser Netzwerkmodus ist für die meisten Benutzeranforderungen geeignet.

Bridged Netzwerk

Wenn dieser Netzwerkmodus  verwendet wird, verwendet Ihre virtuelle Maschine eine virtualisierte  Netzwerkschnittstellenkarte mit direktem  Zugriff auf das Internet. Das hat folgende Konsequenzen:

Hinweis:  Wenn Sie diesen Netzwerkmodus wählen, ist Parallels Desktop nicht mehr für Probleme mit der Netzwerkverbindung verantwortlich.

Das Bridged Netzwerk kann über eine bestimmte Netzwerkschnittstelle aktiviert werden, wie beispielsweise Ethernet, WLAN oder andere Mac-Netzwerkschnittstellen. 

Host-exklusives Netzwerk

Dieser Modus ähnelt dem Shared Network,  nur dass dieses virtuelle Subnetz  (10.37.129.x) von der Außenwelt isoliert ist. Infolgedessen kann die virtuelle Maschine, die im reinen Host-Modus arbeitet, nur andere virtuelle Maschinen sehen und anpingen und mit dem Gateway kommunizieren (10.37.129.1).

 

Zusatzinformation

Die folgenden Grundlagen der Netzwerktechnologie sollen Ihnen helfen zu entscheiden, welchen Netzwerkmodus Sie wählen sollten.

Wenn wir über Netzwerke sprechen, verwenden wir oft Begriffe wie IP-Adresse, DHCP-Server, Subnetz und viele andere. Die ersten drei sind in unserem Fall die wichtigsten.

IP-Adresse

Ein numerisches Etikett, das jedem Gerät (z. B. Computer, Drucker) zugeordnet ist, das an einem Computernetzwerk teilnimmt, das das Internetprotokoll (IP) zur Kommunikation verwendet.

IP-Adressen werden in Punkt-Dezimalschreibweise dargestellt, die aus vier Dezimalzahlen von jeweils 0 bis 255 besteht, getrennt durch Punkte, z. B. 192.168.0.10. Jeder Teil stellt eine Gruppe von acht Bits der Adresse dar. IP-Adressen werden, wie normale Adressen, von Computern und anderen Geräten verwendet, um miteinander zu kommunizieren.

Eine IP-Adresse kann einem Netzwerkgerät (z. B. Computer, Drucker, Tablet, Smartphone usw.) entweder manuell durch einen Benutzer oder einen Systemadministrator oder automatisch durch einen DHCP-Server zugewiesen werden. Um die IP-Adresse Ihres Mac zu sehen, gehen Sie zu Systemeinstellungen > Netzwerk.

Dein Mac wird normalerweise entweder eine WLAN-Verbindung:

oder eine Ethernet-(Kabel-)Verbindung verwenden:

 

DHCP-Server

Ein Computer oder ein bestimmtes Netzwerkgerät (Router), das eine Datenbank mit verfügbaren IP-Adressen und Konfigurationsinformationen verwaltet. Wenn der Server eine Anforderung von einer Client-Vorrichtung (z. B. Computer, Drucker) empfängt, bestimmt der DHCP-Server das Netzwerk, mit dem der DHCP-Client verbunden ist, weist dann eine für den Client geeignete IP-Adresse zu und sendet für diesen Client geeignete Konfigurationsinformationen.

In einem durchschnittlichen Heimnetzwerk arbeitet Ihr Router als DHCP-Server, der die IP-Adressen automatisch allen Ihren Netzwerkgeräten zuweist, sodass Sie sich keine Sorgen um die IP-Adressen und andere notwendige Einstellungen für Ihren Mac oder ein Smartphone machen müssen.

Subnetz (Subnet)

Eine logisch sichtbare Unterteilung eines IP-Netzwerks. Die Praxis, ein Netzwerk in zwei oder mehr Netzwerke aufzuteilen, wird als Subnetting bezeichnet.

Alle Computer, die zu einem Subnetz gehören, werden mit einer gemeinsamen, identischen, höchstwertigen Bitgruppe in ihrer IP-Adresse angesprochen. Beispielsweise hat ein typisches Heim-Subnetz IP-Adressen im folgenden Bereich: 192.168.0.1-255. Das bedeutet, dass Ihr WLAN-Router eine IP-Adresse von 192.168.0.1, Ihr MacBook Pro® eine IP-Adresse von 192.168.0.10, Ihr Smartphone - 192.168.0.20 und Ihr drahtloser Drucker - 192.168.0.30 hat. Um mehr über die Einstellungen des DHCP-Servers zu erfahren, lesen Sie bitte die Dokumentation Ihres Routers.

Der Datenverkehr zwischen Subnetzen wird über spezielle Gateways, sogenannte Router, ausgetauscht oder geroutet, die die logischen oder physikalischen Grenzen zwischen den Subnetzen bilden.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how we can improve it.

Network modes in Parallels Desktop for Mac

1447 users found this article helpful

Information

Virtual machine can use three different networking modes depending on user needs:

To switch between network modes go to macOS menu bar when virtual machine is active > Devices menu > Network.

Note: configuring Shared and Host-Only networks is available in Pro Edition in Parallels Desktop Preferences > Network.

Shared Networking

This is the default and recommended network mode for virtual machines, as it does not require any specific configuring and works "out of the box". When this networking mode is used Parallels Desktop will work as a virtual router for your virtual machine. As a result:

 

This network mode is suitable for most of user needs.

Bridged Network

When this network mode is used, your virtual machine uses a virtualized network interface card with direct access to Internet. As a result:

Note: when selecting this network mode Parallels Desktop is no longer responsible for network connectivity issues.

Bridged network can be enabled on a particular network interface, such as Ethernet, Wi-Fi or other Mac network interfaces. 

Host-Only Network

This mode is similar to Shared Network except that this virtual subnet (10.37.129.x) is isolated from the outer world. As a result, the virtual machine that is working in host-only mode can only see and ping other virtual machines and communicate with the gateway (10.37.129.1).

 

Additional information

The networking technology basics below should help you decide which networking mode to choose.

When talking about networking we often use terms like IP address, DHCP Server, subnetwork, and many others. The first three are the most important in our case.

IP address

A numerical label assigned to each device (e.g., computer, printer) participating in a computer network that uses the Internet Protocol (IP) for communication.

IP addresses are represented in dot-decimal notation, which consists of four decimal numbers, each ranging from 0 to 255, separated by dots, e.g., 192.168.0.10. Each part represents a group of eight bits of the address. IP addresses, like regular addresses, are used by computers and other devices to communicate with each other.

An IP address can be assigned to a network device (e.g., computer, printer, tablet, smartphone, etc.) either manually by a user or a System Administrator, or automatically by a DHCP server. To see the IP address of your Mac, go to System Preferences > Network.

Your Mac will normally use either a Wi-Fi connection:

or an Ethernet (cable) connection:

 

DHCP server

A computer or a specific network device (router) that maintains a database of available IP addresses and configuration information. When the server receives a request from a client device (e.g., computer, printer), the DHCP server determines the network to which the DHCP client is connected, and then allocates an IP address that is appropriate for the client, and sends configuration information appropriate for that client.

In an average home network your router will work as a DHCP server that automatically assigns the IP addresses to all your network devices so that you do not need to worry about the IP addresses and other necessary settings for your Mac or a smartphone.

Subnetwork (subnet)

A logically visible subdivision of an IP network. The practice of dividing a network into two or more networks is called subnetting.

All computers that belong to a subnet are addressed with a common, identical, most-significant bit-group in their IP address. For example, a typical home subnet will have IP addresses in the following range: 192.168.0.1-255. This means your Wi-Fi router will have an IP address of 192.168.0.1, your MacBook Pro® will have an IP address of 192.168.0.10, your smartphone - 192.168.0.20 and your wireless printer - 192.168.0.30. To learn more about the settings of the DHCP server, please read your router's documentation.

Traffic between subnetworks is exchanged or routed with special gateways called routers, which constitute the logical or physical boundaries between the subnets.

Network adapters (NIC) types in virtual machine configuration explanation

In virtual machine configuration you can choose between 4 types of network interface card (NIC):

alttext

Virtio network adapter is the fastest card. However, it works only in Linux and BSD guest operating systems. It is a default adapter for Linux-based OSes.

Intel® PRO/1000 MT is a default network adapter for Windows and Mac OS X virtual machines. It works in all operating systems. It also counts a checksum and splits packages. Thus it allows to increase the network performance.

Intel® Gigabit CT (82574L) Support for this network interface was added in Parallels Desktop 11 for Mac. This is Intel's e1000e Ethernet driver.

Realtek RTL8029AS is the simplest adapter from the list. It does not count a checksum or split packages. The Realtek adapter can be used only if you have Parallels Tools installed in your virtual machine. Without Parallels Tools it will work very slow or even will not work at all. It works especially good with Windows XP virtual machines.

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how we can improve it.