Search

Language:  

Available article translations:

"Optimize for Time Machine" backup option logic

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac Standard Edition
  • Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac Standard Edition
  • Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac Standard Edition

Information

When you set "Optimize for Time Machine" option enabled in Virtual Machine Configuration, snapshots are being taken every 48 hours.

The last 3 snapshots are being kept and Time Machine is backing up only the last snapshot, but not the whole Virtual Machine. This allows you to reduce the amount of data that Time Machine backs up, to reduce the time Time Machine spends backing up the virtual hard disk(s).

  • on Parallels Desktop version 8:



  • on Parallels Desktop versions 9 and 10:



NOTE: If your Time Machine is backing up the whole Virtual Machine file while Optimize for Time Machine option is enabled - it is a known misbehavior for Parallels Desktop 8. This issue was fixed in Parallels Desktop 9




1e5db16426987d561060acdf56d947b4 df4909b7dd0609a3c148f007041db6d9 97cd84747b25a2e5a06065a21a747a53 3307fff3682b15f0ba3fbe13d779296d ae069407387ff6d2cdd44f3842d61cf7

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No