Search

Language:  
Search for:

Available article translations:

Some features are disabled after the virtual machine upgrade. Is it normal?

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Desktop 4 for Mac
  • Parallels Desktop for Windows & Linux

Symptoms

I have upgraded Parallels Desktop 3.0 to Parallels Desktop 4.0 from version 3 to version 4. But after the upgrade, some features are disabled in the guest operating system.


Cause

After upgrading to Parallels Desktop 4.0, several updates are required for each virtual machine. Normally, they are performed when you boot into your virtual machine for the first time after the upgrade. Thus, the old version of Parallels Tools is removed and a new one is installed. Until this installation is complete, some features like Coherence, automatic screen resizing, etc are disabled. Also you would not be able to shut down the virtual machine, switch between different view modes (Full Screen, Window, Coherence, Modality), and so on.
 

Resolution

Please do not perform any actions unless the upgrading procedure is complete. Afterwards you will be able to enjoy all the advantages of Parallels Desktop 4.0.

Here is the list of most wide-spread messages. If you see them, please, ignore:

# \\.psf <file:///\\.psf>  is not accessible
# Mapped network drive is not accessible.
# Found new hardware.
# New hardware is installed. Reboot is required.
# Select new network location


If you still experience any difficulties with upgrading, please, contact the Parallels Technical support Team. You can:

1. submit a free e-mail support request 

http://www.parallels.com/support/desktop/

2. Purchase Phone support at

http://www.parallels.com/store/support/






279e509e1fbdf7d3ff4adbfcc21d2666 1e5db16426987d561060acdf56d947b4 33c4522b6fa9ca8e050f19b889fb58f1 ecc5de475de1f457466edb16f04f766f

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No