Search

Language:  

Available article translations:

How to disable two-factor authentication for my Parallels account

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Home Edition
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Pro Edition
  • Parallels Access
  • Parallels Remote Application Server

Symptoms

  • Every time I login to Parallels account from a new browser I need to confirm that I trust it, can I disable this confirmation step?
  • I want to disable two-factor authentication for my Parallels account.

Disclaimer

Parallels highly recommends not to disable two-factor authentication for your Parallels account. This feature secures your personal or business data and remote computers from any access violations. If you intend to disable this feature please secure your account with a unique and complex password. Good password should contain at least 8 digits with both uppercase and lowercase, numbers and special symbols. Do not use same password that has already been used for online marketplaces, social networks or other web portals.

Resolution

  1. Login to your Parallels account at my.parallels.com
  2. From the right-upper menu navigate to Security Settings.
  3. Set Trusted Devices validation to Off:

  4. A pop-up 'Changes saved' will appear indicating that the feature was disabled.

More info about Trusted Devices feature

The option of validating devices and web browsers on login gives you an extra layer of protection for your Parallels account data against unauthorized access. This is particularly important if you are using remote computers with Parallels Access, or being an administrator of business account. Option conditions are explained below:

On: (recommended) Whenever an attempt to login to your Parallels account is made from an unrecognized and unapproved device or web browser, Parallels My Account requests your approval by sending you a confirmation email. Once the specified device or web browser is confirmed, you can use it to access your Parallels account. This has to be done only once for a specific device or web browser.

Auto: Same as the "On" option, but the access confirmation is required only if your account has critical resources like remote computers registered in Parallels Access or business inventory items (such as Parallels Desktop Business computers, Remote Application Server farms or Parallels Mac Management proxy servers).

Off: (not recommended) Device or web browser validation is disabled. When this option is selected, your Parallels account can be accessed from unrecognized devices and web browsers.




f9b6a8d63f3437e0dca35c9704a9033c 4987860c21de5849bcebfeb0472cfd03 7b79bc60d065460ca794ac1e48cbf81a a9c6e0b6a5209e617a7c0dd5eace86cf 1e5db16426987d561060acdf56d947b4 1d70d1f9c41d01c5f7202a4290e434e1

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No