Search

Language:  

Available article translations:

Keyboard layout sync for Microsoft account

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Home Edition
  • Parallels Desktop for Mac Pro Edition
  • Parallels Desktop Lite

Symptoms

  1. After installing Windows 10/8.1/8 in express mode, list of active keyboard layouts in Windows is the same as in Mac OS X. But after logging in with Microsoft account, some of keyboard layouts disappeared, or new layout appeared.

  2. Same Microsoft account is used both with Parallels Desktop virtual machine, and physical PC. New keyboard layout added in the virtual machine also appears on the PC.

Cause

By default, Windows synchronizes personal settings between all devices using the same Microsoft account, including keyboard layouts.

Resolution

Disable synchronization of Language preferences in Microsoft Account Settings:

  • Start virtual machine with Windows 10/8.1/8 installed.

  • Log in with your Microsoft Account.

  • Disable synchronization of Language preferences in your Microsoft Account's Settings.

  • Correct list of active keyboard layouts if required.

How to disable synchronization of Language preferences in Windows 10:

  • Click on Windows Start button and select Settings.

  • Go to Accounts -> Sync your settings -> Individual sync settings.

  • Disable Language preferences pin.

    alttext

How to disable synchronization of Language preferences in Windows 8/8.1:

  • Swipe in from the right edge of the screen, tap Settings, and then tap Change PC settings. (If you're using a mouse, point to the lower-right corner of the screen, move the mouse pointer up, click Settings, and then click Change PC settings.)

  • Tap or click OneDrive, and then tap or click Sync settings.

  • Turn off Language preferences pin.

For more information see: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/sync-settings-pcs

NOTE: Some keys on Apple and PC keyboards are placed differently. Parallels Desktop sets appropriate keyboard layouts during express Windows installation. These layouts will be mostly the same as in Mac OS X. You login with local account at the first time. When you login with Microsoft Account, Windows changes active keyboard layout list with one that is saved in Microsoft Account. All personal settings are synchronized by default. It is possible that some keyboard layouts will be removed and other added. This list will remain even if you login with local account later. You can disable Language preferences synchronization to be sure that keyboard layout list will stay unchanged.




f9b6a8d63f3437e0dca35c9704a9033c 385adc52a567cad80fb2f95fb8c393bc a9c6e0b6a5209e617a7c0dd5eace86cf 1e5db16426987d561060acdf56d947b4 4987860c21de5849bcebfeb0472cfd03

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No