Search

Language:  
Search for:

Available article translations:

Migrating a Windows computer with multiple user accounts to a virtual machine

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Transporter for App Store

Like a PC or Like a Mac?

When you migrate a Windows-based physical computer to a virtual machine, you can choose the integration level between your Windows and Mac applications and files.

If you choose the "Like a PC" option, all the data stored in the home directories of all Windows user accounts will be available only in the resulting virtual machine. This virtual machine will be stored in the home directory of the Mac user who initiated migration.

If you choose the "Like a Mac" option, the data stored in the current Windows user's home directory will be transferred to the home directory of the user who initiated migration on the Mac. For example, the files stored in the My Music folder in Windows will be transferred to the Music folder in Mac OS X, the files stored in the My Pictures folder to the Pictures folder, etc. The data of other Windows users (if any) will be available only in the resulting virtual machine. This virtual machine will be saved in the /Users/Shared/Parallels folder on the Mac and will be available to all Mac users.

Migrating a Windows computer with multiple user accounts

To migrate a Windows physical computer with multiple user accounts to a virtual machine, follow these steps:
  1. On the Windows physical computer, launch Parallels Transporter Agent under the user account whose data you want to transfer from the home directory to the corresponding folders on the Mac.
  2. On the Mac, launch Parallels Transporter under the user account to whom you want to transfer the data from Windows.
  3. When prompted, choose the "Like a Mac" option and follow the wizard's instructions.
As a result, the Windows physical computer will be migrated to a Windows virtual machine on the Mac. The data stored in the home directory folders of the user who initiated migration in Windows will be transferred to the corresponding folders of the Mac user who initiated migration in Mac OS X.

Peculiarities of the resulting virtual machine

The resulting virtual machine will have the following peculiarities:
  • It will be stored in the /Users/Shared/Parallels folder on the Mac and available to all Mac users.
  • The documents of all Windows users (except for the user who initiated migration in Windows) will be available only in this virtual machine.
  • The Shared Profile functionality will be turned on in the virtual machine configuration for all Mac users. This means that the links to the user's home directory folders in Windows will be redirected to the corresponding home directory folders in Mac OS X. To make this explanation more vivid, let us assume that a Mac user has logged in to the virtual machine. If this user follows the My Documents link (for example, in the list of links called Other Places), he/she will access not the My Documents folder in the Windows home directory but the Documents folder in Mac OS X.
  • As Shared Profile redirects the links to the user's home directory folders in Windows to the corresponding folders in Mac OS X, all the files newly created in Windows will be saved in the home directory folders of the current Mac user. If you have one user account on your Mac and multiple user accounts in the virtual machine, no matter what user account you choose to log in to the guest operating system, all the newly created files will be saved in the home directory folders of the current Mac user. As a result, these folders may easily become a mess. In this case, you may need to create more user accounts on your Mac and use them to run the virtual machine under other Windows accounts. For detailed information on how to create a new user account in Mac OS X, please refer to http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.4/en/mh168.html.
             Note: To disable Shared Profile, choose Configure from the Virtual Machine menu to open the virtual machine configuration, click Options > Sharing, and disable the Share Mac user folders with Windows option.

Using the resulting virtual machine

After you start the resulting virtual machine, it will be reconfigured and then Mac users will be able to log in to the guest operating system. Keep in mind that only one Mac user can work with the virtual machine at a time.
Note: If you have any problems with the access rights, please refer to http://kb.parallels.com/en/5733.

To change the Mac user account under which you run the virtual machine, you can do one of the following:
  • Shut down the virtual machine and then start it under the necessary Mac user account; or
  • Log off the guest operating system and suspend the virtual machine. Then use the necessary Mac user account to resume the virtual machine and log in to the guest operating system.



bd4f40ffd6b11a52a2375f6607e7e2dd

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No
 
 
 
 
 
 
Desktop Virtualization
- Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac
- Parallels Transporter
- Parallels Desktop Switch to Mac Edition
- Parallels Desktop for Mac Enterprise Edition
- Parallels Management-Mac for Microsoft SCCM
Server Virtualization
- Parallels Cloud Server
- Parallels Containers for Windows 6.0
- Parallels Virtuozzo Containers
Automation
- Parallels Automation
- Parallels Automation for Cloud Infrastructure
- Parallels Business Automation Standard
- Parallels Virtual Automation
- Parallels Plesk Panel Suite
- Web Presence Builder
- Parallels Plesk Automation
- Parallels Small Business Panel
- Value-added Services for Hosters
- Parallels Partner Storefront
Services & Resources
- Cloud Acceleration Services
- Professional Services
- Support Services
- Training & Certification