Search

Language:  
Search for:

Available article translations:

Container is deleted from the wrong node via PVA

APPLIES TO:
  • Parallels Cloud Server
  • Parallels Virtuozzo Containers for Linux
  • Parallels Virtuozzo Containers for Windows
  • Parallels Server
  • Parallels Virtual Automation

Symptoms

The most recent copy of a container can be removed in the following scenario:

  1. the container is migrated in the interface of PVA MN from one node to another without deleting the private area from the source node or using the command line tool vzmigrate with the option --remove-area no;
  2. some time later, the original container is manually restored on the source node by renaming the configuration file and the directory with the private area:
    • on Windows: %vzroot%\conf\CTID.conf.migrated is renamed to %vzroot%\conf\CTID.conf and %vzroot%\private\CTID.migrated is renamed to %vzroot%\private\CTID;
    • on Linux: /etc/vz/conf/CTID.conf.migrated is renamed to /etc/vz/conf/CTID.conf with changing the target of the symbolic link if needed, and /vz/private/CTID.migrated is renamed to /vz/private/CTID (the actual path may be different); (Replace CTID with the appropriate container's ID value.)
  3. the recovered container is started on the source node while the target node still has the copy of this container with the same CTID and EID;
  4. in the interface of PVA MN, the container is deleted, being expected to be deleted from the destination node.

The actual result is: the container from the source node is actually deleted.

Cause

The container's EID (Environment ID) value is not changed during migration. Any environment is represented with an unique EID value in PVA and all operations for environments are performed using the corresponding EID values.

In case two containers with the same EID exist in the infrastructure on different nodes, PVA MN displays only one of them and detects the parent (the node where the container resides currently) of the container by the last operation that was performed on the container.

For the scenario described in the Symptoms section:

  • if before deleting the copy of the container on the destination server something is done with the copy of the container on the source node (for example, it is stopped/started), PVA MN considers the source node as the parent server for this container, and even if explicitly pointing to the destination node in the web interface of PVA MN, the container will be deleted from the source node.

Resolution

Manual restore on the source node of the already migrated container (and thus creating 2 copies of the same container with the same EID value) is not supported by PVA MN and should be avoided.

Search words:

recover a deleted container

container deleted from wrond node from PVA

deleting container from PVA




ca05eaf5b843fbd53589c90d7228a6df 2897d76d56d2010f4e3a28f864d69223 909d99074e442b52ce54cc7b31cf065d eb0ea3b827d18de2329b6477e24c1d59 de15ebe36a547439f84e5981418f36c7 bf1c3a170005eae151f49ba2720abde9 4542fc1e09dcc36ad9dbfd547b6b7b3c

FEEDBACK
Was this article helpful?
Tell us how we may improve it.
Yes No
 
 
 
 
 
 
Desktop Virtualization
- Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac
- Parallels Transporter
- Parallels Desktop Switch to Mac Edition
- Parallels Desktop for Mac Enterprise Edition
- Parallels Management-Mac for Microsoft SCCM
Server Virtualization
- Parallels Cloud Server
- Parallels Containers for Windows 6.0 Beta
- Parallels Virtuozzo Containers
Automation
- Parallels Automation
- Parallels Automation for Cloud Infrastructure
- Parallels Business Automation Standard
- Parallels Virtual Automation
- Parallels Plesk Panel Suite
- Web Presence Builder
- Parallels Plesk Automation
- Parallels Small Business Panel
- Value-added Services for Hosters
- Parallels Partner Storefront
Services & Resources
- Cloud Acceleration Services
- Professional Services
- Support Services
- Training & Certification